Lucknow Super Giants (LSG) leg-spinner Digvesh Rathi stirred controversy with a Kesrick Williams-style notebook send-off after dismissing Punjab Kings (PBKS) opener Priyansh Arya during their IPL 2025 clash at the Ekana Stadium, Lucknow, on April 1.
The heated moment came in the third over of PBKS’ chase of 172 when Rathi bowled a short delivery outside off, forcing Arya into a mistimed pull. Shardul Thakur completed a simple catch at mid-on, dismissing Arya for 8 off 9 balls. However, instead of a routine celebration, Rathi mimicked Williams’ iconic notebook gesture, writing something imaginary in the air.
Table of content
Gavaskar Unhappy With Rathi’s Send-off
The celebration didn’t sit well with Indian cricket legend Sunil Gavaskar, who called out the young spinner for unnecessary showboating.
“I can understand if a wicket comes after the batsman hits a six or a boundary. But celebrating like this means you didn’t expect to get a wicket. Now that you have, you’re just showing off,” Gavaskar remarked on air.
A fellow commentator reminded Gavaskar about Kesrick Williams’ 2017 face-off with Virat Kohli, where the West Indies pacer did the same celebration after dismissing the Indian captain. Gavaskar chuckled and quipped:
“We know what Kohli did after that. He hit him for boundary after boundary after boundary (laughs).”
Possible Repercussions for Rathi
Following his act, on-field umpires immediately warned Rathi, and IPL authorities might take further action. Match referee Prakash Bhatt could review the incident, potentially reprimanding Rathi for breaching the IPL Code of Conduct.
What’s Next?
While the controversy unfolds, LSG will now shift focus to their upcoming matches. Rathi’s enthusiasm is evident, but Gavaskar’s words serve as a reminder that celebrations should be earned, not forced—especially in the high-pressure world of IPL!