New Zealand announce squad for Bangladesh ODIs, Trent Boult opts out

In an intriguing development, New Zealand Cricket has revealed its 13-member squad for the upcoming three-match ODI series against Bangladesh, slated to unfold from December 17 to 23.

The BlackCaps, opting for a strategic approach, have decided to rest several senior players, leading to a revamped lineup.

Notably, key figure Trent Boult, who played a pivotal role in the team’s journey to the World Cup 2023 semi-final, has excluded himself from selection.

With Kane Williamson also set to take a break, the responsibility of leading the ODI side falls on Tom Latham.

The team management has strategically rested seasoned players such as Tim Southee, Daryl Mitchell, Mitchell Santner, Glenn Phillips, and Devon Conway in preparation for the upcoming home season.

Although Trent Boult has not officially retired from international cricket, his decision to withdraw from New Zealand’s central contracts in August 2022 signaled a shift in his priorities.

Since then, Boult has selectively participated in series with the senior national team while prioritizing his involvement in lucrative franchise-based T20 leagues worldwide.

Despite his recent appearance in the ODI World Cup in India, Boult has made himself unavailable for the upcoming series against Bangladesh.

The New Zealand squad for the ODI series features new faces, with all-rounder Josh Clarkson and tall fast bowler William O’Rourke earning their maiden international call-ups.

Leg-spinner Adi Ashok, who previously featured in a T20I for the BlackCaps, also secures his first ODI squad inclusion, filling in for Ish Sodhi, who will be present for the initial T20I before taking a break.

Additionally, Rachin Ravindra, who was not part of the Test squad in Bangladesh, will serve as the other spinner in the ODI lineup.

New Zealand ODI Squad:

  • Tom Latham (Captain), Adi Ashok (2nd and 3rd ODI), Finn Allen, Tom Blundell, Mark Chapman, Josh Clarkson, Jacob Duffy, Kyle Jamieson, Adam Milne, Henry Nicholls, Will O’Rourke, Rachin Ravindra, Ish Sodhi (1st ODI), Will Young.

ODI Series Schedule:

  • Sunday, December 17: University of Otago Oval, Dunedin
  • Wednesday, December 20: Saxton Oval, Nelson
  • Saturday, December 23: McLean Park, Napier

Following the ODI series, the two teams are set to engage in a T20I series from December 27 to 31. Bangladesh, in the absence of Shakib Al Hasan, has designated Najmul Hossain Shanto as their captain for the white-ball tour.

Bangladesh ODI Squad:

  • Najmul Hossain Shanto (Captain), Tanzid Hasan Tamim, Anamul Haque Bijoy, Tawhid Hridoy, Mushfiqur Rahim, Litton Kumer Das, Afif Hossain Dhrubo, Soumya Sarkar, Mehidy Hasan Miraz (Vice Captain), Mustafizur Rahman, Shoriful Islam, Tanzim Hasan Sakib, Hasan Mahmud, Rishad Hossain, Rakibul Hasan.

Bangladesh T20I Squad:

  • Najmul Hossain Shanto (Captain), Litton Kumer Das, Rony Talukdar, Tawhid Hridoy, Shamim Hossain, Afif Hossain Dhrubo, Soumya Sarkar, Mehidy Hasan Miraz (Vice Captain), Shak Mahedi Hasan, Mustafizur Rahman, Shoriful Islam, Hasan Mahmud, Rishad Hossain, Tanvir Islam, Tanzim Hasan Sakib.

Cricket enthusiasts are eagerly anticipating the clash between the revamped New Zealand squad and a determined Bangladesh side, setting the stage for an exciting series of ODIs and T20Is.