Leading Wicket-Takers in the ODI World Cup 2023: Who’s Taking Home the Bowling Honors?

The ODI World Cup 2023 has kicked off with a bang, taking cricket fans on an exhilarating ride of thrilling matches and top-notch performances. While the batsmen have been putting on a show, the bowlers have also shown their mettle. In this article, we’ll take a closer look at the leading wicket-takers in the tournament, and we’ll find out who’s topping the wicket-taking list.

The ODI World Cup 2023 Overview

The ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 is being held in India and began on October 5. It will culminate with the grand finale in Ahmedabad on November 19. A total of 10 teams are competing in this prestigious event, including the host nation, India, and the defending champions, England. With an action-packed schedule, cricket enthusiasts worldwide are eagerly watching their favorite teams vie for the coveted ICC trophy.

The Leading Wicket-Takers in ODI World Cup History

Before we dive into the current tournament’s leading wicket-takers, let’s take a moment to honor the legends who have left their mark on ODI World Cup history.

Former Australian pacer Glenn McGrath holds the record for the most wickets in ODI World Cup history, with a staggering 71 wickets from 39 matches. This phenomenal bowler, known for his precision and consistency, made his debut in the 1996 World Cup and featured in three World Cup editions, including 1999, 2003, and 2007, with Australia emerging as champions on each occasion.

Sri Lankan spin maestro Muttiah Muralitharan occupies the second spot on the all-time list with 68 wickets from 40 matches. He’s closely followed by his compatriot, Lasith Malinga, a former Sri Lankan pacer, who is third with 56 scalps from 29 matches.

In the fourth and fifth positions, we have Pakistan’s legendary pacer Wasim Akram, with 55 wickets from 38 matches, and Australian speedster Mitchell Starc, who amassed 50 wickets from 19 matches. Starc was the highest wicket-taker in the 2019 World Cup held in England, clinching 27 wickets in just 10 matches.

The Heroes of ODI World Cup 2023

Now, let’s turn our attention to the standout bowlers of the ODI World Cup 2023. Mitchell Santner from New Zealand leads the charge with 12 wickets from 5 matches, followed closely by India’s Jasprit Bumrah with 11 wickets from 5 matches. Sri Lanka’s Dilshan Madushanka and New Zealand’s Matt Henry share the third position, each with 11 wickets.

Shaheen Shah Afridi from Pakistan and Australia’s Adam Zampa have grabbed 9 wickets each, taking the fifth and sixth positions. Lockie Ferguson from New Zealand, Kagiso Rabada from South Africa, and Reece Topley from England are joint-seventh with 8 wickets. Lastly, Marco Jansen from South Africa rounds up the top ten wicket-takers with 8 wickets to his name.

Most wickets in World Cup 2023

1Mitchell SantnerNew Zealand512
2Jasprit BumrahIndia511
3Dilshan MadushankaSri Lanka411
4Matt HenryNew Zealand510
5Shaheen Shah AfridiPakistan59
6Adam ZampaAustralia49
7Lockie FergusonNew Zealand48
8Kagiso RabadaSouth Africa48
9Reece TopleyEngland38
10Marco JansenSouth Africa  48

With the tournament still in full swing, these bowling heroes will be eager to add more scalps to their tally and solidify their positions on the wicket-takers’ list. The fans can expect some fierce competition between these outstanding bowlers as they strive to finish as the top wicket-taker of the ODI World Cup 2023.

As the matches progress and the battles intensify, cricket enthusiasts worldwide eagerly await the thrilling performances and remarkable bowling feats in the ODI World Cup 2023. With several matches yet to be played, the wicket-taker rankings are sure to witness some exciting changes, making it a tournament to remember.