ICC T20 World Cup 2024 qualified teams: Know which countries make the list

As the cricketing world gears up for the ninth edition of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup in 2024, the list of qualified teams is now complete, providing a glimpse into the diverse and competitive lineup set to grace the tournament.

Direct Qualifiers and Co-Hosts

The West Indies and the United States, as co-hosts, secured automatic berths for the ICC T20 World Cup 2024. Joining them are the top eight teams from the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022, which includes defending champions England, runners-up Pakistan, semi-finalists India and New Zealand, along with Australia, Sri Lanka, South Africa, and the Netherlands.

Automatic Qualification

Afghanistan and Bangladesh, based on their rankings as the next two best-performing teams in the ICC Men’s T20I Team Rankings, claimed the remaining two automatic qualification spots.

Regional Qualifiers

The remaining eight spots were fiercely contested in the ICC regional qualifiers, a testament to the global reach and inclusivity of the T20 format.

  • Africa: Two top teams emerged from Africa to secure their spots in the ICC T20 World Cup 2024.
  • Asia: Similar success stories unfolded in Asia, with two teams securing their place through regional qualifiers.
  • Europe: The ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Europe Qualifier witnessed Scotland defeating Ireland by eight runs in a thrilling final, securing their spots in the upcoming T20 World Cup.
  • Americas: One team from the Americas region earned their place, adding another layer of diversity to the competition.
  • East Asia-Pacific: Papua New Guinea emerged victorious in the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup East Asia-Pacific Qualifier, defeating Japan by six wickets in the final and securing their entry into the global showdown.

Format and Schedule

The ICC T20 World Cup 2024 will feature 20 participating teams, divided into four groups of five teams each. The tournament is scheduled to take place from June 4 to 30, 2024. The format promises intense competition and showcases the T20 format’s global appeal.

ICC T20 World Cup 2024 Qualified Teams

  • West Indies
  • United States
  • England
  • Pakistan
  • India
  • New Zealand
  • Australia
  • South Africa
  • Sri Lanka
  • Netherlands
  • Afghanistan
  • Bangladesh
  • Scotland
  • Ireland
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Canada
  • Nepal
  • Oman
  • Namibia
  • Uganda

As the cricketing fraternity eagerly awaits the ICC T20 World Cup 2024, the diverse lineup promises a spectacle of cricketing excellence, uniting nations and fans worldwide in celebration of the beloved T20 format. The tournament is set to deliver thrilling encounters, fierce rivalries, and moments that will etch themselves into the annals of T20 cricket history.