Deepti Sharma becomes fourth Indian to cross 100-wicket mark in ODIs

Mumbai, January 02, 2023

In a historic moment at the iconic Wankhede Stadium, Deepti Sharma, the versatile all-rounder, etched her name in the annals of Indian women’s cricket by achieving the remarkable feat of 100 wickets in Women’s One Day Internationals (WODIs). The milestone was reached during the third and final match against Australia on Tuesday, marking a significant achievement in her 86th appearance in the 50-over format.

Surpassing Rajeshwari Gayakwad’s record of 99 wickets, Deepti Sharma now stands as the fourth Indian cricketer to accomplish the feat, joining the legendary Nooshin Al Khadeer with a century of wickets in ODIs. Jhulan Goswami (255) and Neetu David (141) lead the list of highest wicket-takers for India in women’s ODIs.

Deepti reached the 100-wicket mark by dismissing Phoebe Litchfield, a crucial wicket considering Litchfield’s impressive 119-run innings and her substantial 189-run opening partnership with captain Alyssa Healy.

Outstanding Bowling Performance in Second ODI

Deepti Sharma’s journey to the milestone was paved with remarkable achievements, especially in the second ODI where she showcased her bowling prowess by securing a record-breaking five-wicket haul. This outstanding performance played a crucial role in limiting the visitors to 258/8 in 50 overs, despite India falling short by just three runs. Notably, she became the first Indian bowler to claim a five-for against Australia in ODIs.

Australia Clinches Series Whitewash at Wankhede

Australia, carrying a 2-0 lead in the series, displayed a dominant performance in the series finale at Wankhede. Batting first, the opening duo of Litchfield and Healy engaged in a mammoth 189-run stand. Subsequent cameos by lower middle-order batters, including Ashleigh Gardner (30), Alana King (26*), and Annabel Sutherland (23), propelled Australia to set a target of 339 in 50 overs.

During the chase, the Indian team struggled, losing wickets at regular intervals. Yastika Bhatia and Smriti Mandhana fell within the first powerplay, and the Australians continued to pick up key wickets. Georgia Wareham dismissed skipper Harmanpreet Kaur and Richa Ghosh, and no Indian batter could reach the score of even 30. The hosts were eventually bundled out for 148 in the 33rd over, as Australia secured a clean sweep to end the series unassailed.

For her consistent and impressive performances throughout the series, Phoebe Litchfield was awarded both the Player of the Match and the Player of the Series accolades, capping off a memorable tour for the Australian side.

Leave a Reply