Asia Cup Winners List | Who Was the Last Asia Cup Winner?

“Asia Cup winners list”—a search on Google gives you a compilation of reigning champions of this prestigious tournament. If there was ever a tournament that captured fans’ imagination after ICC Cricket World Cup in 50 overs cricket, it has to be the Asia Cup.

In case you are a cricket fan and have a keen interest in Asian cricket teams like India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, and Bangladesh, then you have come to the right place. We look at the Asia Cup history and list of Asia Cup winners. It also includes the last Asia Cup winner.

History of Asia Cup

Asia Cup was first played in 1984 in the United Arab Emirates (UAE). It resulted from a joint umbrella of cricket nations, including Asian powerhouses like India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, and Bangladesh. This umbrella was known as the Asian Cricket Council (ACC), formed in 1983. Only a year later, they started organizing the tournament, which has undergone several changes in recent years.

The ACC proposed that the Asia Cup be held every two years, but the subsequent years saw it become the biggest stage for political bickering. In 1986, India boycotted the tournament as it was being played in Sri Lanka, with whom they didn’t have a good relationship. In 1990-91, Pakistan refused to play the tournament in India.           

Also, it came into existence as a 50-over game, but with the advent of T20 cricket, the authorities thought it was best to alternate the tournament into ODI and T20 tournaments.

Nations Participating in Asia Cup

Over the years, the Asia Cup has seen participation from all the Asian powerhouses. It includes India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, and Bangladesh. Teams like UAE and Hong Kong also started participating as the year progressed. With more teams participating, it gave cricket fans more opportunities to place bets on online cricket betting platforms during Asia Cup.

Here are the nations featured more than once in the Asia Cup.

  1. India
  2. Sri Lanka
  3. Pakistan
  4. Bangladesh
  5. Afghanistan
  6. UAE
  7. Hong Kong

India has won the most Asia Cup titles, with seven. Defending champions Sri Lanka has won the trophy six times, while Pakistan clinched Asia’s top cricketing tournament twice. Bangladesh finished runner-up in 2012, 2016, and 2018.

Rohit Sharma had a disappointing IPL 2023 season. But do you know the Indian captain’s stats? Find out Rohit Sharma highest score in ODI, T20, and Tests.

Asia Cup Winners List 1984-2022

As mentioned above, the Asia Cup remains one of the most thrilling tournaments. The latest edition saw Sri Lanka beat Pakistan in the final. We will now look at the Asia Cup winners list right from the start, which is 1984, to the latest edition.

1984 Asia Cup Winner: India; Runner-up: Sri Lanka

India beat Sri Lanka to win the inaugural edition of the Asia Cup in UAE. The then Sunil Gavaskar-led side grabbed a 54-run win courtesy of three-wicket hauls from Roger Binny and Ravi Shastri.

1986 Asia Cup Winner: Sri Lanka; Runner-up: Pakistan

Sri Lanka compensated for their loss two years later when the Island nation beat Pakistan in Colombo in the Asia Cup second edition. Aravinda de Silva and Arjuna Ranatunga steered Sri Lanka home in a 45-over game.

1988 Winner: India; Runner-up: Sri Lanka

India won their second title, beating Sri Lanka again in the final. Kris Srikkanth and Navjot Singh Sidhu were the architects of the six-wicket win in the final played in Dhaka.

1990-91 Asia Cup Winner: India; Runner-up: Sri Lanka

Boycotted by Pakistan, this was the first Asia Cup that India was hosting. And India ensured it put the home advantage to good use, beating Sri Lanka in the final. Sanjay Manjrekar’s unbeaten 75 saw India clinch a third Asia Cup trophy.

1995 Winner: India; Runner-up: Sri Lanka

India beat Sri Lanka in an Asia Cup final for the fourth time, beating them by eight wickets. Riding on half-centuries from Mohammed Azharuddin and Navjot Singh Sidhu, India easily chased down the target of 231.

1997 Winner: Sri Lanka; Runner-up: India

Sri Lanka showed guts against India for the first time, beating them in the final to lift their second Asia Cup. Sri Lanka chased down 240 with 79 balls to spare. The silverware came after their 1996 World Cup win, which defined the golden generation of Sri Lankan cricket.

2000 Winner: Pakistan; Runner-up: Sri Lanka

Pakistan grabbed its maiden Asia Cup title after a 39-run win over Sri Lanka in the final in Dhaka. Saeed Anwar, Inzamam-ul-Haq, and Moin Khan struck half-centuries, while Arshad Khan, Wasim Akram, and Mohammad Akram took two wickets each in the final.

2004 Winner: Sri Lanka; Runner-up: India

In Colombo, Sri Lanka grabbed its third Asia Cup title after a 25-run win over India in the final. Sri Lanka’s slow bowlers Upul Chandana and Sanath Jayasuriya took five wickets between them. Meanwhile, Sachin Tendulkar played a valiant 74.

2008 Winner: Sri Lanka; Runner-up: India

Ajantha Mendis and Sanath Jayasuriya combined to help Sri Lanka win its fifth Asia Cup trophy. In the final, Jayasuriya’s 125 guided Sri Lanka to a challenging total of 273. Mendis spit fire as the mystery spinner took 6/13, bowling out India for 173.    

2010 Winner: India; Runner-up: Sri Lanka

Under MS Dhoni, India avenged their earlier Asia Cup loss to Sri Lanka, beating them by 81 runs. The wickets were substandard throughout the tournament, and teams batting second struggled to chase. Dinesh Karthik and Ashish Nehra stole the show in the final.

2012 Winner: Pakistan; Runner-up: Bangladesh

Pakistan lifted its second Asia Cup after a thrilling two-run win over Bangladesh at Sher-e-Bangla Stadium. Aizaz Cheema successfully defended nine runs off the final over to take Pakistan to glory. It was the first time Bangladesh reached the final of the Asia Cup.

2014 Winner: Sri Lanka; Runner-up: Pakistan

In 2014, Sri Lanka beat Pakistan in Bangladesh. Pakistan, who had defeated India in a thriller in the league stage, carried the high into the final. However, Lahiru Thirimanne’s 101 and a 75 from Mahela Jayawardene saw Sri Lanka cruise to a five-wicket win.

2016 Winner: India; Runner-up: Bangladesh

It was the first time the Asia Cup was curtailed into a 20-over tournament. India beat Bangladesh in their backyard to lift a record sixth Asia Cup. Shikhar Dhawan’s 44-ball 60 saw India chase down 122 with more than six overs to spare.

2018 Winner: India; Runner-up: Bangladesh

In a repeat of the 2018 edition, India met Bangladesh again in the title clash. Kedar Jadhav emerged as India’s hero in a tense match that was decided in the final ball of the tournament. It was also the ‘Men in Blue’s seventh Asia Cup trophy. 

2022 Winner: Sri Lanka; Runner-up: Pakistan

Sri Lanka beat Pakistan in the final of the Asia Cup 2022 edition. It was the second time the tournament was played in the T20 format. Bhanuka Rajapaksa and Pramod Madushan grabbed the headlines in the 23-run win over Pakistan in UAE.

Concluding Thoughts India and Sri Lanka have been the two most successful sides in this tournament, winning 13 trophies between them. When the Asia Cup returns in the coming few months, Rohit Sharma and his team will look to win their eighth title. Meanwhile, Sri Lanka will be aiming for back-to-back titles. Pakistan and Bangladesh will also seek to end their trophy drought.