Adelaide Strikers

The Adelaide Strikers, a prominent franchise in Australian professional Twenty20 cricket, have left an indelible mark on the Big Bash League (BBL). Their story is one of perseverance and the quest for excellence.

Formation and Inaugural Years

The Strikers made their debut in the BBL in 2011, taking over from the Southern Redbacks, who had previously participated in the now-defunct KFC Twenty20 Big Bash competition. The team found their home at the iconic Adelaide Oval, sporting their distinctive cornflower blue uniform.

In the early years, the Strikers worked diligently to build a competitive team. The inaugural captain, Michael Klinger, led the way, and the team was under the guidance of coach Darren Berry, who had previously coached the Southern Redbacks.

Season results

SeasonLeague positionFinals positionTable
2011–126thDid not qualify
2012–135thDid not qualify
2013–147thDid not qualify
2014–151stSemi-finals (lost to Sydney Sixers)
2015–161stSemi-finals (lost to Sydney Thunder)
2016–176thDid not qualify
2018–197thDid not qualify
2019–203rdLost the Knockout match against Sydney Thunder
2020–215thLost the Eliminator match against Brisbane Heat
2021–224thLost the Challenger match against Sydney Sixers
2022–237thDid not qualify

A Wealth of Talent

Throughout their 11-year history in the BBL, the Strikers have consistently featured a roster of accomplished and beloved players. Among their ranks have been remarkable all-rounders like Johan Botha, Michael Neser, Kieron Pollard, Ryan ten Doeschate, and Chris Jordan.

The team has also boasted high-scoring batsmen, including Travis Head, Colin Ingram, Mahela Jayawardene, Jonathan Wells, Michael Klinger, and Jake Weatherald. Effective bowlers such as Ben Laughlin, Billy Stanlake, Rashid Khan, Peter Siddle, Adil Rashid, and Kane Richardson have contributed to the Strikers’ success. The wicketkeeping duties have been expertly handled by Alex Carey and Tim Ludeman.

Jason Gillespie’s Leadership

Currently, the Strikers are under the stewardship of former Australian cricketer Jason Gillespie, who brings a wealth of knowledge and experience to the team. Leading from the front, Travis Head serves as the team’s captain, while Alex Carey holds the position of vice-captain.

New Year’s Eve Tradition

One of the most iconic traditions in Australian cricket is the New Year’s Eve match hosted by the Adelaide Strikers. Since BBL03, a Strikers’ home match on December 31st has been a highly anticipated event. This tradition has grown in popularity, attracting enthusiastic crowds at the Adelaide Oval year after year. This match has come to be known as the New Year’s Eve Match or NYE Clash, and it has produced unforgettable moments.

In BBL03, Travis Head’s memorable century against the Sydney Sixers secured a historic victory for the Strikers, making it one of the most cherished New Year’s Eve clashes in BBL history. While the Strikers enjoyed a perfect 6-0 record in NYE Big Bash matches until BBL08, they faced their first defeat on New Year’s Eve in BBL09, narrowly losing to the Sydney Thunder by just 3 runs.

However, the Strikers haven’t tasted victory in a New Year’s Eve game since their triumphant run in 2018, marking a four-year losing streak that they aim to break.

By Opposition

Brisbane Heat1798000052.94%
Hobart Hurricanes19117000161.11%
Melbourne Renegades16106000062.50%
Melbourne Stars1587000053.33%
Perth Scorchers211011000047.61%
Sydney Sixers18711000038.88%
Sydney Thunder21109000252.63%

Highest innings score

3/230Hobart HurricanesAdelaide Oval5 January 2023
8/207Hobart HurricanesAdelaide Oval26 January 2020
2/202Hobart HurricanesAdelaide Oval4 February 2018
4/202Melbourne RenegadesAdelaide Oval10 January 2023
4/198Perth ScorchersAdelaide Oval23 December 2019

Lowest Totals


Most Runs


Most career wickets

BowlerSeasonsMatchesWicketsBest bowling
Rashid Khan2017–69986/17
Peter Siddle2017–72915/16
Wes Agar2017–52674/6
Michael Neser2012–202162623/24
Ben Laughlin2014–201950604/26

Adelaide Strikers Squad:

Matthew Short (c), Ryan Gibson, Chris Lynn, Adam Hose, Colin de Grandhomme, Thomas Kelly, Harry Nielsen (wk), Ben Manenti, Cameron Boyce, Wes Agar, Harry Conway, Henry Hunt, Henry Thornton

3000 Rs Unlimited Match Prediction