Women’s Super Smash 2023-24 starts on December 19 – full schedule

The thrill of T20 cricket is back in New Zealand as the Women’s Super Smash 2023-24 kicked off on December 19, 2023, promising an action-packed spectacle that will continue until January 28, 2024. Organized by New Zealand Cricket, the Women’s Super Smash is a prestigious women’s domestic T20 cricket competition, showcasing the finest talents in the country.

Overview of the Tournament:

In its 17th edition, the Women’s Super Smash features six teams vying for supremacy in a round-robin format, comprising a total of 32 T20 matches played over 40 days. The participating teams include Auckland Hearts, Canterbury Magicians, Central Hinds, Northern Brave, Otago Sparks, and Wellington Blaze, each eager to make their mark in this fiercely competitive tournament.

Format and Schedule:

The teams will engage in a double round-robin format, facing each other twice during the league phase. In this format, every team is set to play 10 matches in their quest for dominance. The stakes are high as the team finishing at the top of the standings secures a direct berth to the final, while the second and third-placed teams battle it out in the elimination final for the coveted second spot in the grand finale.

Key Dates and Culmination:

The Women’s Super Smash 2023-24 final is scheduled for January 28, 2024, promising a captivating climax to this edition of the tournament.

Defending Champions and Historical Significance:

Canterbury Magicians enter the tournament as the defending champions, having triumphed over Wellington Blaze by 12 runs in the thrilling 2022-23 final. However, history weighs heavily on Wellington Blaze, the most successful team since the inception of the women’s T20 tournament in the 2007-08 season. Boasting an impressive seven titles, Wellington Blaze is a formidable force in women’s T20 cricket.

Evolution of the Tournament:

The tournament has undergone a series of rebranding, evolving from the State League Twenty20 (2007-08 to 2008-09) to Action Cricket T20 (2009-10), later known as the New Zealand Women’s Twenty20 Competition until the 2017-18 season.

Where to Watch in India:

For cricket enthusiasts in India, the live streaming of the Women’s Super Smash 2023-24 will be available on the FanCode app and website. However, there will be no live telecast on any TV channel in India, making the FanCode platform the go-to destination for witnessing the electrifying encounters of this T20 extravaganza.

Women’s Super Smash 2023-24 schedule and live India match start times

All match timings are in India Standard Time (IST)

Tuesday, December 19Auckland Hearts vs Canterbury Magicians9:00 AM
Thursday, December 21Wellington Blaze vs Otago Sparks5:00 AM
Friday, December 22Northern Brave vs Central Hinds6:30 AM
Sunday, December 24Wellington Blaze vs Auckland Hearts2:30 AM
Tuesday, December 26Canterbury Magicians vs Otago Sparks6:30 AM
Wednesday, December 27Central Hinds vs Northern Brave5:00 AM
Thursday, December 28Otago Sparks vs Wellington Blaze5:00 AM
Friday, December 29Central Hinds vs Auckland Hearts5:00 AM
Saturday, December 30Central Hinds vs Canterbury Magicians5:00 AM
Monday, January 1Otago Sparks vs Auckland Hearts5:00 AM
Tuesday, January 2Northern Brave vs Wellington Blaze6:30 AM
Wednesday, January 3Otago Sparks vs Canterbury Magicians5:00 AM
Thursday, January 4Auckland Hearts vs Wellington Blaze5:00 AM
Friday, January 5Canterbury Magicians vs Central Hinds5:00 AM
Saturday, January 6Northern Brave vs Otago Sparks6:30 AM
Sunday, January 7Canterbury Magicians vs Auckland Hearts5:00 AM
Monday, January 8Central Hinds vs Wellington Blaze10:30 AM
Tuesday, January 9Canterbury Magicians vs Northern Brave6:30 AM
Wednesday, January 10Central Hinds vs Otago Sparks6:30 AM
Thursday, January 11Canterbury Magicians vs Wellington Blaze10:30 AM
Friday, January 12Northern Brave vs Auckland Hearts5:00 AM
Saturday, January 13Wellington Blaze vs Central Hinds5:00 AM
Sunday, January 14Auckland Hearts vs Otago Sparks9:00 AM
Monday, January 15Wellington Blaze vs Northern Brave5:00 AM
Tuesday, January 16Auckland Hearts vs Central Hinds5:00 AM
Thursday, January 18Northern Brave vs Canterbury Magicians7:00 AM
Friday, January 19Otago Sparks vs Central Hinds5:00 AM
Saturday, January 20Auckland Hearts vs Northern Brave5:00 AM
Monday, January 22Wellington Blaze vs Canterbury Magicians5:00 AM
Tuesday, January 23Otago Sparks vs Northern Brave5:00 AM
Friday, January 26Elimination Final5:00 AM
Sunday, January 28Women’s Super Smash 2023-24 Final5:00 AM

Women’s Super Smash 2023-24 teams and squads

Auckland Hearts: Maddy Green (captain/wicket-keeper),Bella Armstrong, Brooke Halliday, Cate Pedersen, Kate Irwin, Prue Catton, Saachi Shahri, Skye Bowden, Amberly Parr, Amie Hucker, Anna Browning, Josie Penfold, Elizabeth Buchanan (wicket-keeper), Isabella Gaze (wicket-keeper), Bree Illing, Fran Jonas, Makayla Templeton, Molly Penfold, Olivia Anderson, Rishika Jaswal

Canterbury Magicians: Frances Mackay (captain), Laura Hughes (wicket-keeper),Abigale Gerken, Boadicea Lynch, Erin Bermingham, Harriet Graham, Kate Anderson, Natalie Cox, Yssa Cullen, Emma Irwin, Jacinta Savage, Jodie Dean, Nicola Clayton, Isobel Sharp (wicket-keeper), Abigail Hotton, Gabby Sullivan, Jessica Simmons, Lea Tahuhu, Melissa Banks, Sarah Asmussen

Central Hinds:  Natalie Dodd (captain/wicket-keeper), Aniela Apperley, Emma McLeod, Kerry-Anne Tomlinson, Mikaela Greig, Thamsyn Newton, Flora Devonshire, Georgia Atkinson, Ocean Bartlett, Kate Gaging (wicket-keeper), Ashtuti Kumar, Claudia Green, Hannah Rowe, Melissa Hansen, Rosemary Mair

Northern Brave: Eimear Richardson (captain), Bernadine Bezuidenhout (wicket-keeper), Carol Agafili, Eve Wolland, Sam Curtis, Jess Watkin, Marama Downes, Tash Wakelin, Yasmeen Kareem, Caitlin Gurrey (wicket-keeper), Holly Topp (wicket-keeper), Jesse Prasad, Kayley Knight, Lucy Boucher, Nensi Patel, Shriya Naidu

Otago Sparks: Felicity Leydon-Davis (captain), Caitlin Blakely, Olivia Gain, Poppy-Jay Watkins, Gemma Adams, Harriett Cuttance, Saffron Wilson, Suzie Bates, Bella James (wicket-keeper), Polly Inglis (wicket-keeper), Chloe Deerness, Eden Carson, Emma Black, Hayley Jensen, Louisa Kotkamp, Molly Loe, Paige Loggenberg, Sophie Oldershaw

Wellington Blaze: Amelia Kerr (captain), Caitlin King, Gemma Sims, Georgia Plimmer, Rebecca Burns, Hannah R Francis, Kate Chandler, Nicole Baird, Phoenix Williams, Rachel Bryant, Sophie Devine, Antonia Hamilton (wicket-keeper), Jessica McFadyen (wicket-keeper), Jess Kerr, Leigh Kasperek, Monique Rees, Natasha Codyre, Xara Jetly

As the Women’s Super Smash 2023-24 unfolds, fans can expect a captivating blend of skill, strategy, and sheer cricketing prowess. With each team striving for supremacy and the defending champions looking to maintain their dominance, the tournament promises to be a thrilling spectacle for cricket aficionados and a platform for emerging talents to make their mark on the grand stage of women’s T20 cricket in New Zealand.