The Top 4 Most Thrilling ODI World Cup Finals in History

The ODI World Cup is undoubtedly one of the most prestigious and highly anticipated cricket tournaments in the world. Every four years, cricketing nations come together to showcase their skills and battle it out for the ultimate prize in the limited-overs format. Throughout the history of the tournament, there have been several nail-biting finals that have left fans on the edge of their seats.

In this article, we’ll take a closer look at the top four ODI World Cup finals that have provided unforgettable moments in cricketing history in anticipation of the 13th edition set to hold in India from the 5th of October.

1999: Australia vs. Pakistan – The Dramatic Showdown

The 1999 ICC Cricket World Cup final in England was a memorable encounter. Australia, led by Steve Waugh, faced Pakistan. Pakistan chose to bat first and set a target of 132 runs. However, Australia’s disciplined bowling attack, spearheaded by Shane Warne, proved too strong as Pakistan was bowled out for 132. Adam Gilchrist’s incredible half-century, scoring 54 runs off 36 deliveries, led Australia to a remarkable victory with nearly 30 overs to spare. This final is remembered for Gilchrist’s outstanding performance and the one-sided nature of the match.

2003: Australia vs. India – The Battle of Titans

The 2003 Cricket World Cup final featured Australia and India, two cricketing powerhouses. Australia, the defending champions, were favored, while India had shown exceptional form throughout the tournament.

Australia chose to bat first and posted an imposing total of 359 runs, with Ricky Ponting scoring a remarkable century. In response, India fought bravely, with Virender Sehwag’s impressive knock of 82 runs off 81 deliveries. However, Australia’s strong bowling attack proved too much, and India fell short by 125 runs. Despite the outcome, the match will be remembered for the clash between these formidable teams and Ponting’s exceptional century.

2011: India vs. Sri Lanka – A Nation’s Dream Realized

The 2011 ICC Cricket World Cup final between India and Sri Lanka was a historic moment for both nations producing immense interest in the podium as well as in betting arena, seeing marked interest in the ICC Cricket World Cup betting odds.

Played at the iconic Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai, the match was filled with intense drama and emotions. Sri Lanka, batting first, posted a competitive total of 274 runs, thanks to a brilliant century by Mahela Jayawardene. In pursuit of the target, India faced early setbacks but found hope in Gautam Gambhir’s steady innings.

However, it was the legendary Gautam Gambhir’s stellar performance that captivated the nation. Gambhir fell just short of a century, scoring 97 runs. The match reached its climax with captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni’s remarkable six, which sealed India’s victory, sparking jubilation across the country. This final not only showcased the brilliance of individual players but also symbolized the triumph of a cricket-obsessed nation.

2015: Australia vs. New Zealand – Trans-Tasman Battle

The final of the 2015 ICC Cricket World Cup brought together two neighboring rivals, Australia and New Zealand, in a high-stakes encounter. Australia, known for their dominant cricketing legacy, faced a formidable New Zealand side that had remained unbeaten throughout the tournament.

Batting first, New Zealand struggled against the relentless Australian bowling attack and were bowled out for a modest total of 183 runs. In response, Australia displayed their batting prowess, led by captain Michael Clarke, Steven Smith and opener David Warner. Clarke’s 74 runs and Smith’s half-century ensured Australia’s victory with over 16 overs to spare. This final highlighted Australia’s dominance and New Zealand’s valiant efforts throughout the tournament.


The ODI World Cup finals have produced some of the most exhilarating moments in cricket history. From dominant victories to nail-biting finishes, each final has left a lasting impression on fans worldwide. As the cricketing world eagerly awaits the 2023 edition, there is no doubt that new moments of drama and excitement will be created, adding to the rich tapestry of the tournament’s history.

Leave a Reply