Super Smash 2023-24 begins on December 19 – full schedule

Cricket enthusiasts, gear up for an action-packed T20 fiesta as the Super Smash 2023-24 is set to captivate audiences from December 19, 2023, to January 28, 2024. Organized by New Zealand Cricket, the Super Smash is the premier men’s domestic T20 cricket competition in the country, promising six teams, 32 exhilarating T20 matches, and 40 days of cricketing frenzy.

Six Teams, One Title: The Super Smash Lineup

The 19th edition of the Super Smash will witness six formidable teams vying for supremacy: Auckland Aces, Canterbury, Central Stags, Northern Districts, Otago Volts, and Wellington Firebirds. These teams will lock horns in a total of 32 T20 matches, showcasing the best of New Zealand’s T20 talent.

Double Round-Robin Format: A Test of Consistency

As per the schedule, each team will engage in a double round-robin format, facing off against the other sides twice. This ensures a comprehensive league phase, with every team playing a total of 10 matches. The battle for consistency will be intense as teams strive to secure a spot in the playoffs.

Super Smash 2023-24 teams and squads

Auckland Aces: Sean Solia (captain),George Worker, Mark Chapman, Robert O’Donnell, William O’Donnell, Harjot Johal, James Neesham, Ryan Harrison, Simon Keene, Cam Fletcher (wicket-keeper), Cole Briggs (wicket-keeper), Finn Allen (wicket-keeper), Quinn Sunde (wicket-keeper), Adithya Ashok, Benjamin Lister, Danru Ferns, Jock McKenzie, Louis Delport, Matthew Gibson, Yahya Zeb

Canterbury: Cole McConchie (captain), Bevon Jacobs, Chad Bowes, Harry Chamberlain, Henry Nicholls, Ken McClure, Leo Carter, Matt Boyle, Rhys Mariu, Angus McKenzie, Cameron Paul, Daryl Mitchell, Dylan Hunter, Michael Rippon, Sean Davey, Zakary Foulkes, Mitchell Hay (wicket-keeper), Tom Latham (wicket-keeper), Edward Nuttall, Fraser Sheat, Henry Shipley, Ish Sodhi, Kyle Jamieson, Matt Henry, Michael Rae, William O’Rourke

Central Stags: Dane Cleaver (captain/wicket-keeper), Ben Smith, Greg Hay, Jack Boyle, Josh Clarkson, Tom Bruce, Will Young, William Clark, Bevan Small, Brad Schmulian, Doug Bracewell, Bayley Wiggins (wicket-keeper), Curtis Heaphy (wicket-keeper), Ajaz Patel, Angus Schaw, Blair Tickner, Brett Randell, Jayden Lennox, Joey Field, Liam Dudding, Ray Toole

Northern Districts: Jeet Raval (captain), Anurag Verma, Bharat Popli, Brett Hampton, Kristian Clarke, Matt Fisher, Peter Bocock (wicket-keeper), Zak Gibson, Scott Kuggeleijn, Tim Seifert (wicket-keeper), Tim Southee, Colin de Grandhomme, Trent Boult, Kane Williamson, Freddy Walker, Henry Cooper, Joe Walker, Joe Carter, Katene Clarke, Tim Pringle, Mitchell Santner, Neil Wagner

Otago Volts: Dean Foxcroft (captain), Dale Phillips, Hamish Rutherford, Max Chu (wicket-keeper), Andrew Hazeldine, Ben Lockrose, Jacob Duffy, Jarrod McKay, Matthew Bacon, Travis Muller, Llew Johnson, Ollie White, Thorn Parkes, Glenn Phillips, Jake Gibson, Jacob Cumming, Jamal Todd, Luke Georgeson

Wellington Firebirds: Nick Kelly (captain), Rachin Ravindra, Devon Conway (wicket-keeper), Iain McPeake, Michael Snedden, Nathan Smith, Peter Younghusband, Gareth Severin, Nick Greenwood, Jesse Tashkoff, Muhammad Abbas, Ben Sears, Michael Bracewell, Tom Blundell (wicket-keeper), Logan Van Beek, James Hartshorn, Adam Milne, Tim Robinson, Troy Johnson, Callum McLachlan (wicket-keeper)

Road to the Final: Playoffs Unveiled

The team finishing at the top of the standings after the league matches will enjoy a direct ticket to the final showdown on January 28, 2024. The stakes get higher for the second and third-placed teams, who will clash in an elimination final for the coveted spot in the grand finale. The playoff stage promises nail-biting encounters and high-pressure situations.

Defending Champions and Past Glories

Northern Districts enter the tournament as the defending champions, having clinched the title in the 2022-23 season by defeating Canterbury in a thrilling final. Since the inception of the T20 tournament in the 2005-06 season, Northern Districts, Auckland Aces, and Wellington Firebirds have emerged as the most successful teams, each boasting four titles.

Where to Catch the Action in India?

For fans in India eager to witness the Super Smash 2023-24 live, the excitement can be streamed on the FanCode app and website. Unfortunately, there will be no live telecast of the tournament on any TV channel in India. The FanCode platform ensures that cricket enthusiasts stay connected with the live action, bringing the T20 spectacle right to their screens.

Super Smash 2023-24 schedule and live India match start times

All match timings are in India Standard Time (IST)

Tuesday, December 19Auckland Aces vs Canterbury5:00 AM
Thursday, December 21Wellington Firebirds vs Otago Volts8:30 AM
Friday, December 22Northern Districts vs Central Stags10:00 AM
Sunday, December 24Wellington Firebirds vs Auckland Aces6:00 AM
Tuesday, December 26Canterbury vs Otago Volts10:00 AM
Wednesday, December 27Central Stags vs Northern Districts8:30 AM
Thursday, December 28Otago Volts vs Wellington Firebirds8:30 AM
Friday, December 29Central Stags vs Auckland Aces8:30 AM
Saturday, December 30Central Stags vs Canterbury8:30 AM
Monday, January 1Otago Volts vs Auckland Aces8:30 AM
Tuesday, January 2
Wednesday, January 3Otago Volts vs Canterbury8:30 AM
Thursday, January 4Auckland Aces vs Wellington Firebirds8:30 AM
Friday, January 5Canterbury vs Central Stags8:30 AM
Saturday, January 6Northern Districts vs Otago Volts10:00 AM
Sunday, January 7Canterbury vs Auckland Aces8:30 AM
Monday, January 8Central Stags vs Wellington Firebirds6:30 AM
Tuesday, January 9Canterbury vs Northern Districts10:00 AM
Wednesday, January 10Central Stags vs Otago Volts10:00 AM
Thursday, January 11Canterbury vs Wellington Firebirds6:30 AM
Friday, January 12Northern Districts vs Auckland Aces8:30 AM
Saturday, January 13Wellington Firebirds vs Central Stags8:30 AM
Sunday, January 14Auckland Aces vs Otago Volts5:00 AM
Monday, January 15Wellington Firebirds vs Northern Districts8:30 AM
Tuesday, January 16Auckland Aces vs Central Stags8:30 AM
Thursday, January 18Northern Districts vs Canterbury10:00 AM
Friday, January 19Otago Volts vs Central Stags8:30 AM
Saturday, January 20Auckland Aces vs Northern Districts8:30 AM
Monday, January 22Wellington Firebirds vs Canterbury8:30 AM
Tuesday, January 23Otago Volts vs Northern Districts8:30 AM
Friday, January 26Elimination Final8:30 AM
Sunday, January 28Super Smash 2023-24 Final8:30 AM

As the Super Smash 2023-24 unfolds, cricket aficionados can expect a thrilling blend of skill, strategy, and entertainment. Get ready for a rollercoaster ride of T20 cricket as New Zealand’s top teams battle it out for the coveted Super Smash title.

Leave a Reply