India Overtakes Pakistan To Record Most Wins In T20I Cricket; Here’s Full List

In a historic triumph, India outshone arch-rivals Pakistan to secure the record for the most victories in T20 Internationals. The groundbreaking moment unfolded on Friday evening during the fourth T20I of the ongoing five-match series against Australia in Raipur.

Opting to bat first, India showcased a formidable performance, amassing a commendable total of 174 runs, fueled by stellar innings from Rinku Singh and Jitesh Sharma. Australia, in response, faltered and managed only 154 runs, resulting in India’s victory by a margin of 20 runs.

With this win, India not only sealed the series but also marked their 136th triumph in T20 Internationals, establishing a new milestone as the team with the most victories in the shortest format of the game.

T20 International Wins Leaderboard:

  • India – 136 wins in 213 matches
  • Pakistan – 135 wins in 226 matches
  • New Zealand – 102 wins in 200 matches
  • Australia – 95 wins in 181 matches
  • South Africa – 95 wins in 171 matches
  • England – 92 wins in 177 matches

Under the captaincy of MS Dhoni, India etched its name in history by claiming the inaugural T20 World Cup in 2007, prevailing over Pakistan in a tense final in Johannesburg. Despite reaching the knockout stages multiple times, India has been unable to add another T20 World Cup trophy to its collection.

As the ongoing series against Australia unfolds, India has already secured an unassailable 3-1 lead. The final dead rubber will take place in Bengaluru on Sunday, offering another opportunity for India to assert its dominance in the T20 format.

This remarkable achievement reflects India’s consistent excellence in T20 Internationals and sets the stage for further milestones in the world of cricket. The Men in Blue continue to leave an indelible mark on the sport, showcasing their prowess and claiming their place at the pinnacle of T20 success.

Leave a Reply