ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Africa Qualifier 2023 begins on November 22 – full schedule

The excitement is building up as the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Africa Qualifier 2023 is set to kick off in Namibia on November 22, lasting until November 30. This tournament, organized by the International Cricket Council (ICC), plays a pivotal role in determining which teams will qualify for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024, scheduled to take place in the West Indies and the United States next year.

Participating Teams

Hosts Namibia will welcome a competitive lineup of teams, including Kenya, Nigeria, Rwanda, Tanzania, Uganda, and Zimbabwe. These cricketing nations will vie for supremacy in the T20 format, showcasing their skills and determination to secure a spot in the prestigious T20 World Cup.

ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Africa Qualifier 2023 teams and squads

Kenya: Rakep Patel (captain), Pushkar Sharma, Rushabvardhan Patel, Sukhdeep Singh, Irfan Karim (wicket-keeper), Collins Obuya, Nelson Odhiambo, Sachin Bhudia, Shem Ngoche, Emmanuel Bundi, Francis Mutua, Lucas Oluoch, Vishil Patel, Vraj Patel

Namibia: Gerhard Erasmus (captain), Zane Green, Michael Van Lingen, Nicol Loftie-Eaton, Helao Yafrance, Shawn Fouche, Ben Shikongo, Tangeni Lungameni, Nico Davin, JJ Smit, Jan Frylinck, Jean-Pierre Kotze (wicket-keeper), David Wiese, Bernard Scholtz, Malan Kruger

Nigeria: Sylvester Okpe (captain), Akhere Isesele, Daniel Ajeku, Joshua Asia, Sesan Adedeji, Ademola Onikoyi (wicket-keeper), Ashmit Shreshta (wicket-keeper), Sulaimon Runsewe (wicket-keeper), Isaac Okpe, Chiemelie Udekwe, Isaac Danladi, Peter Aho, Prosper Useni, Ridwan Abdulkareem, Mohammed Taiwo

Rwanda: Clinton Rubagumya (captain), Didier Ndikubwimana (wicket-keeper), Emmanuel Sebareme, Eric Dusingizimana, Nadil Mohammed, Orchide Tuyisenge, Hamza Khan, Eric Niyomugaba, Wilson Niyitanga, Oscar Imanishimwe, Kevin Irakoze, Zappy Bimenyimana, Martim Akayezu, Emile Rukiriza, Eric Kubwimana

Tanzania: Abhik Patwa (captain), Akhil Anil, Ivan Selemani, Abdullah Jabiri (wicket-keeper), Amal Rajeevan, Mohamed Omary (wicket-keeper), Dhrumit Mehta, Kassim Nassoro Musa, Mohamed Simba, Salum Jumbe Ally, Ally Mpeka Kimote, Harsheed Chohan, Johnson Nyambo, Mohamed Yunusu Issa, Yalinde Nkanya

Uganda: Brian Masaba (captain), Jonathan Ssebanja, Robinson Obuya, Ronak Patel, Simon Sesazi, Cyprus Kakuru (wicket-keeper), Roger Mukasa (wicket-keeper), Alpesh Ramjani, Dineshkumar Nakrani, Kenneth Waiswa, Riazat Ali Shah, Bilal Hassun, David Wabwire, Frank Nsubuga, Henry Senyondo

Zimbabwe: Sikandar Raza (captain), Ryan Burl, Tendai Chatara, Craig Ervine, Luke Jongwe, Innocent Kaia, Clive Madande (wicket-keeper), Wessly Madhevere, Tadiwanashe Marumani (wicket-keeper), Wellington Masakadza, Carl Mumba, Blessing Muzarabani, Richard Ngarava, Nick Welch, Sean Williams

Qualification Pathways

Kenya, Nigeria, Rwanda, and Tanzania earned their places in the T20 World Cup Africa Qualifier 2023 through successful campaigns in sub-regional qualifiers. Uganda, on the other hand, received a bye, having previously participated in the 2022 global qualifiers.

Namibia and Zimbabwe secured direct entry into the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Africa Qualifier 2023 due to their participation in the T20 World Cup 2022 in Australia. The experience gained on the global stage positions them as formidable contenders in the upcoming qualifier.

Tournament Format

The tournament will follow a round-robin format, where each team will face every other side once. With seven competitive teams in the fray, the battle promises intense T20 action as they strive to secure one of the top two positions.

Qualification Stakes

The stakes are high in the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Africa Qualifier 2023, as the top two teams emerging from the round-robin stage will earn the coveted tickets to the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024. The prospect of representing their nations on the global stage adds an extra layer of significance to every match.

Venue Details

All the cricketing action will unfold at two distinguished venues – the United Cricket Club and Wanderers Cricket Ground in Windhoek, Namibia. These venues are set to witness thrilling encounters as teams battle for supremacy.

Where to Watch in India

For cricket enthusiasts in India, the live streaming of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Africa Qualifier 2023 will be available on the FanCode app and website. Unfortunately, there will be no live telecast of the tournament on any TV channel in India.

ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Africa Qualifier 2023 schedule:

All match times are in India Standard Time (IST)

DateMatchTime (IST)
Wednesday, November 22Kenya vs Rwanda1:00 PM
Uganda vs Tanzania1:00 PM
Zimbabwe vs Namibia5:20 PM
Thursday, November 23Kenya vs Nigeria1:00 PM
Zimbabwe vs Uganda5:20 PM
Friday, November 24Nigeria vs Rwanda1:00 PM
Zimbabwe vs Tanzania1:00 PM
Namibia vs Uganda5:20 PM
Saturday, November 25Kenya vs Tanzania1:00 PM
Namibia vs Rwanda5:20 PM
Sunday, November 26Tanzania vs Nigeria1:00 PM
Monday, November 27Rwanda vs Zimbabwe1:00 PM
Uganda vs Nigeria1:00 PM
Namibia vs Kenya5:20 PM
Tuesday, November 28Nigeria vs Zimbabwe1:00 PM
Uganda vs Kenya5:20 PM
Wednesday, November 29Tanzania vs Namibia1:00 PM
Uganda vs Rwanda5:20 PM
Thursday, November 30Zimbabwe vs Kenya1:00 PM
Rwanda vs Tanzania1:00 PM
Nigeria vs Namibia5:20 PM

Please note that all match times are in India Standard Time (IST) and are subject to change. Fans can catch the live action through the FanCode app and website.

As the teams gear up for this crucial qualifier, cricket fans around the world are eagerly anticipating the drama, excitement, and skillful performances that are sure to unfold in the pursuit of T20 glory. The journey to the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024 begins here in Namibia, and the cricketing world will be watching closely.