ICC Cricket World Cup 2023: Points Table and Standings

The 13th edition of the ICC Cricket World Cup is currently underway in India, and cricket enthusiasts worldwide are glued to their screens as 10 formidable teams battle for supremacy in the grand tournament. Organized by the International Cricket Council (ICC), the World Cup commenced on October 5, 2023, with New Zealand securing a convincing nine-wicket victory over England in the opening match held at Ahmedabad’s iconic Narendra Modi Stadium.

A total of 10 teams are participating in this edition of the 50-over World Cup, and the competition is fierce. The teams include Afghanistan, Australia, Bangladesh, England, India, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, Sri Lanka, and the Netherlands. According to the tournament schedule, each team will engage in a round-robin format, facing off against all the other sides once. The top four teams in the standings at the conclusion of the league matches will advance to the semi-finals.

The semi-final clashes promise to be intense. The first semi-final is scheduled to be played at Mumbai’s historic Wankhede Stadium on November 15, with a reserve day reserved for the match. In this thrilling encounter, the top team on the points table will lock horns with the fourth-placed side, setting the stage for a high-stakes battle.

The excitement doesn’t end there. The second semi-final will be hosted at the iconic Eden Gardens in Kolkata on November 16, also with a reserve day. Here, the second-placed team will face off against the fourth-placed team from the league stage standings.

Cricket fans can mark their calendars for the grand finale of the ICC Cricket World Cup 2023, which will be held at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad on November 19, with November 20 designated as the reserve day for this historic match.

Ten venues have been chosen to host the 48 matches in this edition of the ICC Cricket World Cup. These venues include Ahmedabad, Bengaluru, Chennai, Delhi, Dharamsala, Hyderabad, Kolkata, Lucknow, Mumbai, and Pune. Each ground carries its unique history and charm, providing the perfect backdrop for the world’s top cricketing nations to vie for the coveted title.

Australia stands as the most successful team in the history of the 50-over World Cup, having clinched the trophy five times. Host nation India, with two ODI World Cups to their name, follows closely behind.

In the league stage of World Cup 2023, teams receive two points for a victory and one point in the event of a no-result match. The top four teams with the most points at the conclusion of the league stage will secure their places in the semi-finals.

In the event of teams being tied on points at the end of the league stage, the team with the superior net run rate will claim a higher position in the points table. The net run rate serves as the tiebreaker in case of point parity.

Here is a look at the latest points table and standings for the ICC Cricket World Cup 2023:

PosTeamPlayedWonLostNo ResultTiedNet RRPoints
2New Zealand54100+1.4818
3South Africa43100+2.2126
8Sri Lanka41300-1.0482

The ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 is undoubtedly heating up, and the competition promises to deliver breathtaking cricket moments, nail-biting encounters, and a celebration of the spirit of the sport. Fans worldwide are eagerly anticipating the thrilling journey that lies ahead as teams vie for cricketing glory on the world stage.