Cricketing Fireworks: Top Scoring Records in Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy

Cricket enthusiasts have always had a special place in their hearts for the T20 format. The Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy, India’s premier domestic T20 competition, has witnessed its fair share of high-octane encounters and awe-inspiring performances. Among these remarkable moments, some teams have showcased their batting prowess by setting extraordinary records for the highest team totals in the history of the tournament. Let’s take a look at the cricketing fireworks that have lit up the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy.

1. Punjab’s Phenomenal 275/6

Date: 17th October 2023

Venue: Ranchi

Punjab set the cricketing world on fire when they posted a staggering total of 275/6 against Andhra. Batting with sheer determination and finesse, Punjab’s innings had the bowlers running for cover. This record-breaking display in Ranchi left the opposition in awe, redefining what was thought possible in a T20 match.

Punjab showcased a batting extravaganza in their 20 overs, posting a colossal 275/6, registering a remarkable run rate of 13.75. The stand-out performances were led by Abhishek Sharma, who blazed through the innings with an incredible 112 runs from just 51 balls, including 9 boundaries and 9 massive sixes.

Anmolpreet Singh’s fiery knock of 87 off 26 balls, featuring 6 fours and 9 sixes, further fueled Punjab’s commanding total. Their aggressive batting propelled their side to an imposing score, providing a daunting target for the opposition to chase. The electrifying display of power-hitting showcased Punjab’s strength, setting a high bar for their opponents in the T20 encounter.

2. Mumbai’s Mighty 258/4

Date: 21st February 2019

Venue: Indore

Mumbai, known for its cricketing legacy, left an indelible mark with a mammoth total of 258/4 against Sikkim. The match in Indore was a testament to the explosive batting talent found in the city of dreams. Mumbai’s innings featured exceptional strokeplay and remarkable power-hitting, setting a benchmark for teams to aspire to.

Mumbai exhibited a dominant show in their 20-over inning, setting an imposing total of 258/4 with a roaring run rate of 12.90. Shreyas Iyer’s extraordinary innings of 147 off just 55 balls steered the team’s momentum. His astounding knock featured 7 boundaries and a breathtaking 15 sixes.

Suryakumar Yadav also contributed significantly, smashing 63 off 33 balls, adding eight boundaries and two sixes to the scoreboard. Captain Ajinkya Rahane and Prithvi Shaw provided a steady start but were quickly dismissed.

However, their middle-order batsmen, especially Iyer and Yadav, propelled Mumbai to a formidable total. This extraordinary batting spectacle set a challenging target, leaving the opposition with a daunting task in the T20 match.

3. Andhra’s Astounding 252/4

Date: 2nd March 2019

Venue: Mulapadu

Andhra’s relentless pursuit of excellence culminated in a record-breaking total of 252/4 against Manipur. The Mulapadu encounter showcased Andhra’s impressive batting depth and remarkable consistency. They proved that they were a force to be reckoned with in T20 cricket.

Andhra put up an impressive display, securing a total of 252/4 in their 20 overs, maintaining an impressive run rate of 12.60. Ashwin Hebbar and Manyala Pranith were the architects of Andhra’s commanding performance. Both scored vital 70s, with Hebbar striking 71 off 37 deliveries and Pranith contributing an equally valuable 71 off 43 balls.

Captain Hanuma Vihari fell early with only three runs. Nevertheless, Ricky Bhui’s explosive 59 off 20 balls, including seven powerful sixes, intensified Andhra’s innings.

Meanwhile, Girinath Reddy’s brisk 34 off 14 deliveries added more firepower. Despite the quick wickets, Andhra showcased a formidable display of batting prowess, setting a challenging target of 253 for the opposition to chase in the 20-over contest.

4. Karnataka’s Commanding 250/3

Date: 12th November 2019

Venue: Vizianagaram

Karnataka’s batting juggernaut went on a rampage in Vizianagaram, amassing 250/3 against Services. This record-breaking performance was a masterclass in power-hitting, and it sent a clear message to their opponents – Karnataka meant business.

5. Railways’ Remarkable 246/5

Date: 17th October 2023

Venue: Ranchi

Railways, not to be outdone, made their mark with an impressive total of 246/5 against Arunachal. The Ranchi match will be remembered for its boundary-laden innings and the relentless pursuit of excellence by the Railways team.

6. Madhya Pradesh’s Monumental 244/4

Date: 14th November 2019

Venue: Wankhede

Madhya Pradesh’s power-packed performance resulted in a monumental total of 244/4 against Meghalaya at Wankhede. The Wankhede match was a showcase of their exceptional batting prowess and their ability to dominate their opponents.

7. Andhra’s Astonishing 244/4

Date: 22nd February 2019

Venue: Mulapadu

Andhra’s consistency in posting high scores was highlighted with another incredible total of 244/4, this time against Nagaland. The Mulapadu match was a testimony to Andhra’s unwavering commitment to making their mark in the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy.

These record-breaking innings stand as a testament to the explosive talent and fierce competition that defines the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy. As cricket fans eagerly await future editions, it’s only a matter of time before these records are challenged and new milestones are established in the thrilling world of T20 cricket.