Sydney Sixers WBBL

The Sydney Sixers of the Women’s Big Bash League (WBBL) are an iconic women’s Twenty20 cricket team that calls Moore Park, New South Wales, their home. Representing the vibrant city of Sydney, they are one of two prominent teams in the league, with the other being the Sydney Thunder. The Sydney Sixers have etched their name into the annals of WBBL history with a remarkable record, boasting two championship titles and four minor premierships. As a result, they stand tall as one of the most successful franchises in the league’s history.

Formation and Early Days

The Sydney Sixers were among the pioneering eight WBBL teams that laid the foundation for this groundbreaking women’s cricket league. Their association with the men’s team of the same name reflects a commitment to the growth and development of women’s cricket. In a historic moment, the Sixers introduced Ellyse Perry as their inaugural signing, and she would later assume the mantle of the team’s first captain.

The Journey Begins

The Sydney Sixers embarked on their WBBL journey with a maiden match against the Sydney Thunder at Howell Oval in Penrith. While they suffered an initial setback, losing by nine wickets, it was a mere glimpse of what the future held. The team’s resilience and dedication led them to their first victory, a significant moment that arrived in their seventh match against the Perth Scorchers at the iconic Sydney Cricket Ground.

Home grounds

VenueGames hosted by season
Blacktown ISP2N/A2
Drummoyne Oval212117
Hurstville Oval12323112
North Dalton Park11
North Sydney Oval41245420
Sydney Cricket Ground22329
Sydney Showground Stadium33
Waverley Oval11

Notable Captaincy Records

Throughout their journey, the Sydney Sixers have been led by two outstanding captains. Ellyse Perry, who has been at the helm since the team’s inception, boasts a remarkable record, with a winning percentage of 61.47%. Her leadership has been instrumental in the team’s successes over the years. Alyssa Healy also took up the captaincy mantle for a period between 2017 and 2019, guiding the team with distinction.

Ellyse Perry2015–present11167420261.47
Alyssa Healy2017–20198440050.00

The Sydney Sixers’ rich history is a testament to their commitment to excellence in women’s cricket, and their legacy continues to inspire aspiring cricketers around the world. With their winning tradition and passion for the game, the Sydney Sixers remain a force to be reckoned with in the WBBL.

By Opposition

Adelaide Strikers181260066.67
Brisbane Heat177100041.18
Hobart Hurricanes181620088.89
Melbourne Renegades171060162.50
Melbourne Stars15870053.33
Perth Scorchers18990050.00
Sydney Thunder16960160.00

Sydney Sixers WBBL: Records and Achievements That Define Excellence

The Sydney Sixers, a powerhouse in the Women’s Big Bash League (WBBL), have a storied history marked by a plethora of records and milestones. Their journey in the league is laden with remarkable achievements that underscore their status as a dominant force in women’s cricket. Let’s delve into some of the significant records that define the Sydney Sixers’ excellence.

Team Records:

Highest Score in an Innings:
The Sydney Sixers blazed their way to a phenomenal 242 runs in just 20 overs against the Melbourne Stars on December 9, 2017, showcasing their formidable batting prowess.

Highest Successful Chase:
In a thrilling encounter, the Sixers successfully chased down a target of 184 runs in 18.4 overs against the Melbourne Stars on November 22, 2020, displaying their remarkable chasing abilities.

Lowest Successful Defense:
The Sixers defended a modest total of 124 runs, with five wickets in hand, against the Perth Scorchers on January 28, 2017, demonstrating their tenacity in challenging situations.

Largest Victory:
In a dominant display, the Sixers achieved their largest victory in two distinct scenarios. Batting first, they outscored the Hobart Hurricanes by 103 runs on January 25, 2017. When batting second, they sealed victory with a remarkable 37 balls remaining against the Hobart Hurricanes on December 23, 2017.

Longest Winning Streak:
The Sydney Sixers’ golden period extended to nine consecutive victories, a remarkable feat achieved between December 20, 2015, and January 22, 2016.

Longest Losing Streak:
In the face of adversity, the team experienced a challenging phase with six consecutive losses.

Individual Records:

Most Runs:
Ellyse Perry stands tall with an impressive tally of 3,769 runs, making her the leading run-scorer for the Sydney Sixers.

Highest Score in an Innings:
Ashleigh Gardner’s explosive innings of 114 off 52 balls against the Melbourne Stars on December 9, 2017, is a record that epitomizes the Sixers’ dynamic batting.

Highest Partnership:
Ellyse Perry and Alyssa Healy’s unbeaten partnership of 199 runs against the Melbourne Stars on November 3, 2019, remains the highest in the team’s history.

Most Wickets:
Marizanne Kapp is the leading wicket-taker for the Sixers, having scalped an impressive 90 wickets.

Best Bowling Figures in an Innings:
Sarah Aley’s remarkable performance of 4/8 in three overs against the Hobart Hurricanes on January 15, 2016, showcased her bowling prowess.

Hat-Tricks Taken:
Dane van Niekerk and Marizanne Kapp etched their names in history with their respective hat-tricks against the Hobart Hurricanes on December 17, 2017, and the Melbourne Stars on October 26, 2019.

Most Catches (Fielder):
Ellyse Perry’s agility and safe hands have seen her claim 48 catches, showcasing her prowess in the field.

Most Dismissals (Wicket-Keeper):
Alyssa Healy, a stalwart behind the stumps, has completed 93 dismissals, including 52 catches and 41 stumpings.

Individual Awards:

Player of the Match:
Alyssa Healy and Ellyse Perry share the record for the most Player of the Match awards, with 19 each. They are followed by Ashleigh Gardner with 11, Erin Burns with 5, and Sarah Aley, Marizanne Kapp, and Dane van Niekerk with 4 each.

Suzie Bates, Lisa Sthalekar, and Shafali Verma have been recognized as Player of the Match once each.

WBBL Player of the Tournament:
Ellyse Perry and Ashleigh Gardner have been crowned as the WBBL Player of the Tournament in WBBL|04 and WBBL|08, respectively.

The Sydney Sixers’ rich history in the WBBL is characterized by their unwavering pursuit of excellence and their legacy as a dominant team in women’s T20 cricket. These records and achievements stand as a testament to their commitment to the sport and their unrelenting spirit.

Sydney Sixers Women Squad:

Alyssa Healy(w), Suzie Bates, Kate Peterson, Ellyse Perry(c), Ashleigh Gardner, Chloe Tryon, Kate Pelle, Jess Kerr, Lauren Cheatle, Mathilda Carmichael, Emma Hughes, Jade Allen, Gabrielle Sutcliffe, Maitlan Brown, Erin Burns

3000 Rs Unlimited Match Prediction