Sunrisers Hyderabad

Sunrisers Hyderabad, often abbreviated as SRH, have been a dynamic presence in the Indian Premier League (IPL) since their inception in 2013. Representing the city of Hyderabad, the franchise has had its share of successes and struggles over the years. Let’s take a closer look at their journey, season by season.

Inception and Ownership

Sunrisers Hyderabad made their IPL debut in 2013, filling the void left by the dissolved Deccan Chargers. The franchise was acquired by the Sun TV Network, sealing a five-year deal for Rs 85.05 crores (about US$15.9 million) per year.

Formative Years

In their early years, SRH grappled to establish a stable core. They experimented with four different captains in the first two seasons, including Kumar Sangakkara, Cameron White, Daren Sammy, and Shikhar Dhawan. While their bowling proved robust, finding the best XI was a challenge.

The David Warner Era (2015-2021)

The turning point came in 2015 when David Warner was appointed captain. Under his leadership, the team began to shape its identity. In 2016, Warner led SRH to their maiden IPL title, and a formidable quartet of Warner, head coach Tom Moody, mentor VVS Laxman, and bowling coach Muthiah Muralidaran collaborated seamlessly.

During this period, the rise of Afghan sensation Rashid Khan added to the team’s strength. However, changes in leadership and coaching staff marked the years to come.

Recent Transitions

In 2020, Trevor Bayliss took over as head coach from Tom Moody, but he departed after a disappointing 2021 season. Warner’s exclusion from the side and Kane Williamson’s elevation to captain added to the turbulence. VVS Laxman also left to lead the BCCI’s National Cricket Academy. Moody returned as director of cricket ahead of the 2021 season and later resumed the role of head coach in 2022, but his stint was short-lived as Brian Lara took over later that year.

Home Ground

In the heart of Hyderabad, Telangana, the Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium stands tall as the primary home ground for the Sunrisers Hyderabad in the Indian Premier League (IPL). Owned and cherished by the Hyderabad Cricket Association (HCA), this stadium has witnessed countless moments of cricketing brilliance and fervent fan support. Let’s delve into the world of the Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium, a true cricketing haven.

A Sporting Colosseum

The Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium, situated in the bustling eastern suburb of Uppal, is an architectural marvel. With a seating capacity of 55,000, it offers a grand stage for cricket enthusiasts and fans of the Sunrisers Hyderabad to come together and celebrate the sport.

A Dual Homeground

In 2015, the Sunrisers Hyderabad made an intriguing decision to broaden their horizons. They selected the Dr. Y. S. Rajasekhara Reddy ACA–VDCA Cricket Stadium in Visakhapatnam, Andhra Pradesh, as their secondary home ground. This 40,000-capacity stadium was a testimony to their commitment to reaching out to fans across different regions. The team played their first three home games of the season there, offering cricket lovers in Visakhapatnam a taste of IPL action.

Indian Premier League Standing

YearLeague standingFinal standing
20134th out of 9Playoffs
20146th out of 8League stage
20156th out of 8League stage
20163rd out of 8Champions
20173rd out of 8Playoffs
20181st out of 8Runners-up
20194th out of 8Playoffs
20203rd out of 8Playoffs
20218th out of 8League stage
20228th out of 10League stage
202310th out of 10League stage

The Highs and Lows

Over the years, SRH experienced several highs and lows:

  • In 2016, they clinched their maiden IPL title under David Warner’s leadership, winning three knockout games on the trot.
  • In 2018, despite Warner’s absence, they reached the final, narrowly losing to Chennai Super Kings.
  • However, in 2021, SRH had a dismal season, finishing last with just three wins, marking one of their lowest points in the tournament.

Season by Season

Here’s a glimpse of SRH’s performance in each IPL season:

  • 2013 – Fourth: SRH’s bowling, led by Dale Steyn, helped them finish mid-table in their debut season, but they lost to Rajasthan Royals in the eliminator.
  • 2014 – Sixth: Captaincy changes and challenges finding the right balance resulted in six wins from 14 games.
  • 2015 – Sixth: Despite Warner taking over as captain and topping the run charts, SRH failed to qualify for the playoffs.
  • 2016 – Champions: Warner’s heroics, supported by Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Mustafizur Rahman, propelled SRH to their maiden title.
  • 2017 – Third: Despite the elimination, Warner won the orange cap, and new arrivals Rashid Khan and Mohammad Nabi impressed.
  • 2018 – Runners-up: Under Kane Williamson, SRH reached the final but fell short against Chennai Super Kings.
  • 2019 – Fourth: Warner’s return, along with Jonny Bairstow’s contributions, took them to the playoffs.
  • 2020 – Third: Overcoming injuries, SRH reached the playoffs and discovered new heroes.
  • 2021 – Eighth: A season marked by struggles and Warner’s exclusion from the side.
  • 2022 – Eighth: A promising start marred by inconsistencies led to another eighth-place finish.
  • 2023 – Tenth: A dismal season, winning only four of 14 games under new captain Aiden Markram.

Sunrisers Hyderabad’s journey in the IPL reflects the ebbs and flows of T20 cricket. While they have experienced the euphoria of a championship win, they have also grappled with challenges and transitions. As they continue to evolve, the SRH faithful hope for brighter seasons ahead.

By opposition

OppositionSeasonsGames playedWonLostTiedNo resultWin %
Chennai Super Kings2013–present195140026.31
Delhi Capitals2013–present2111100052.38
Gujarat Titan2022–present2110050.00
Punjab Kings2013–present211470066.66
Kolkata Knight Riders2013–present238150034.78
Lucknow Super Giants2022–present202000.00
Mumbai Indians2013–present199100047.36
Rajasthan Royals2013–present17890047.05
Royal Challengers Bangalore2013–present221290155.55
Gujarat Lions2016–201755000100.00
Pune Warriors India201322000100.00
Rising Pune Supergiant2016–20174130025.00

Highest Totals


Lowest Totals


Most Runs


Most Wickets


Sunrisers Hyderabad Squad

Mayank Agarwal, Harry Brook, Mayank Dagar, Fazalhaq Farooqi, Akeal Hosein, Marco Jansen, Heinrich Klaasen, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Umran Malik, Mayank Markande, Aiden Markram, T Natarajan, Glenn Phillips, Adil Rashid, Nitish Kumar Reddy, Abdul Samad, Abhishek Sharma, Vivrant Sharma, Anmolpreet Singh, Washington Sundar, Sanvir Singh, Rahul Tripathi, Kartik Tyagi, Samarth Vyas, Upendra Yadav

3000 Rs Unlimited Match Prediction