Brisbane Heat WBBL

The Brisbane Heat, a formidable force in the Women’s Big Bash League (WBBL), have made their mark in the world of women’s Twenty20 cricket. This article unveils their remarkable history, records, and the triumphant journey of a team that has secured two WBBL championships.

A Glimpse into the Heat’s History:

As one of the eight founding WBBL teams, the Brisbane Heat have consistently showcased their prowess. Their association with the men’s team, sharing the same name, underscores their commitment to cricket in Queensland.

  • Formation: In a momentous announcement by Queensland Cricket, Andy Richards was entrusted with the role of the Heat’s inaugural coach on June 24, 2015. The team’s official launch on July 10 marked another milestone when Holly Ferling was introduced as the Heat’s first-ever player signing. Delissa Kimmince took on the prestigious role of Brisbane’s inaugural captain.
  • First Season: The Heat commenced their journey in the WBBL with a match against the Melbourne Stars on December 5, a contest that witnessed a valiant effort even though they lost by 20 runs. Their first taste of victory came on December 12, at Aquinas College in Perth, when they emerged victorious against the Sydney Sixers with a commanding margin of 35 runs.

Captaincy Records:

Throughout their journey, the Heat have been guided by three remarkable captains, each contributing to the team’s success.

  • Delissa Kimmince (2015–2017): Kimmince led the team in their initial years, overseeing 22 matches with an even record of 11 wins and 11 losses, maintaining a balanced W-L percentage of 50.00.
  • Kirby Short (2017–2019): Short’s tenure as captain spanned 53 matches, during which the Heat flourished with an impressive 34 wins. With a W-L percentage of 64.15, Short’s leadership steered the team to new heights.
  • Jess Jonassen (2020–present): Jess Jonassen, the current captain, has carried on the legacy, leading the Heat in 44 matches so far. Under her leadership, the team has secured 25 victories, balancing the ledger with 17 losses. Jonassen maintains a commanding W-L percentage of 59.52.
Delissa Kimmince2015–20172211110050.00
Kirby Short2017–20195334190064.15
Jess Jonassen2020–present4425170259.52

Championship Glory:

The Brisbane Heat’s legacy in the WBBL is further distinguished by their achievement of securing two championship titles. These victories, achieved back-to-back in WBBL|04 and WBBL|05, have solidified the Heat’s reputation as one of the league’s most successful and formidable teams.

By Opposition

Adelaide Strikers191180057.89
Hobart Hurricanes171240175.00
Melbourne Renegades16970056.25
Melbourne Stars15860157.14
Perth Scorchers171070058.82
Sydney Sixers171070058.82
Sydney Thunder181080055.56

Brisbane Heat in WBBL: A Legacy of Records and Achievements

Highest Score in an Innings: The Brisbane Heat showcased their batting prowess with a monumental score of 192 runs from 20 overs against the Melbourne Renegades on November 6, 2021.

Highest Successful Chase: In a remarkable feat of chasing, the Heat secured victory by successfully chasing down 7/172 runs in 19.3 overs against the Sydney Thunder on January 12, 2019.

Lowest Successful Defense: The Heat managed to defend a challenging total of 6/127 runs against the Adelaide Strikers on January 21, 2017.

Largest Victory (Batting First): The Brisbane Heat dominated the Sydney Sixers, achieving a resounding 92-run victory on October 19, 2019.

Largest Victory (Batting Second): In a record-breaking performance, the Heat secured victory with an astounding 68 balls remaining against the Melbourne Stars on January 10, 2019.

Longest Winning Streak: The Heat’s remarkable consistency has been highlighted by two impressive seven-match winning streaks. The first spanned from November 3 to 22 in 2019, and the second from November 11 to 22 in 2020.

Longest Losing Streak: Despite their success, the Heat have faced a maximum of three consecutive losses in their WBBL journey.

Individual Stats:

Most Runs: Beth Mooney stands out as the leading run-scorer for the Brisbane Heat, accumulating a staggering total of 2,576 runs.

Highest Score in an Innings: Grace Harris set a remarkable record with her explosive innings of 103 runs from 55 balls against the Sydney Sixers on December 12, 2015.

Highest Partnership: The partnership of Grace Harris and Georgia Redmayne reached a remarkable 165 runs against the Melbourne Renegades on October 18, 2022.

Most Wickets: Jess Jonassen has been the standout wicket-taker for the Heat, amassing an impressive tally of 138 wickets.

Best Bowling Figures in an Innings: Jemma Barsby delivered a stunning performance with bowling figures of 4/2 from 2 overs against the Sydney Thunder on January 28, 2018.

Most Catches (Fielder): Grace Harris has proven to be a safe pair of hands in the field, with an impressive record of 40 catches.

Most Dismissals (Wicket-Keeper): Beth Mooney’s agility behind the stumps has resulted in a total of 67 dismissals (41 catches, 26 stumpings).

Individual Awards:

  • Player of the Match: Beth Mooney leads the pack with 16 Player of the Match awards, closely followed by Grace Harris with 10. Several players, including Laura Harris, Jess Jonassen, and Georgia Redmayne, have earned six each.
  • WBBL Player of the Tournament: Beth Mooney showcased her incredible talent in WBBL|02, earning the prestigious Player of the Tournament award.

The Brisbane Heat’s journey in the WBBL is a testament to their exceptional performances, commitment to excellence, and their pursuit of records and achievements in the world of women’s T20 cricket. With outstanding team and individual efforts, they continue to be a formidable force in the league, thrilling fans and inspiring future cricketers.

3000 Rs Unlimited Match Prediction